karnataka elections 2018

New Delhi: The Election Commission is announcing the dates for the Assembly elections in Karnataka, where the Congress, which is in power in the state and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will lock horns. Karnataka, one of the few states where the Congress is in power presently and the only southern state where the BJP was previously able to form a government, is amongst the key states which can now help BJP change the game for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

The Karnataka Assembly of 224 members will end on May 28 and a new house will be put in place then. Congress president Rahul Gandhi and his BJP counterpart Amit Shah have left no stones unturned in order to grab the spotlight in the state. Congress will put its heart and soul into retaining the southern state and the BJP will want to penetrate into the state in order to reduce the tally of the opposition party to three from four. The Congress is currently ruling in Punjab, Karnataka, Meghalaya, and Mizoram.

The BJP has managed to bag Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Assam, and Manipur from under the Congress’ rule and also managed to take hold of the largest state Assembly of Uttar Pradesh. It also managed to end a 25-year-old Left Front rule in Tripura. The Congress faces a tough challenge from the BJP, with the party leveling all sorts of charges against Chief Minister Siddaramaiah. The BJP also launched its election campaign in November.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *