suresh prabhu

New Delhi: Commerce and Industry minister Suresh Prabhu has been given the additional charge of Ministry of Civil Aviation, the Rashtrapati Bhavan announced on Saturday. This move comes after Telugu Desam Party leader Ashok Gajapathi Raju tendered his resignation as the Civil Aviation Minister on Thursday, after the TDP decided to pull out of the Modi government over the Centre’s failure to assign special category status for Andhra Pradesh. President accepts resignations of Raju and Chowdary; PM to look after civil aviation.

In a tweet, the office of President Ram Nath Kovind said, “The President of India, as advised by the Prime Minister, has directed that Suresh Prabhu, Cabinet Minister shall be assigned the charge of the Ministry of Civil Aviation, in addition to his existing portfolio: Rashtrapati Bhawan.”

The two TDP leaders who resigned from the Union Council of Ministers were Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pasupati and Y.S. Chowdary. While Raju was heading the Ministry of Civil Aviation, Chowdary was Minister of State for Science and Technology and Earth Sciences. After Raju’s resignation, PM Narendra Modi had taken charge of civil aviation ministry for the interim period.

Under relentless opposition attack over its failure to secure special category state status for Andhra Pradesh, the state’s ruling TDP pulled out of the Modi government on Thursday but kept a window open for rapprochement by deciding to remain part of the NDA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *